Colleges montage

The City of Cork Vocational Education Committee is responsible for 6 Colleges located in the Cork City area.

Three of our colleges – Nagle Community College, Mahon, Terence MacSwiney Community College, Knocknaheeny, and Coláiste Daibhéid on the South Terrace, provide a comprehensive and responsive second level education service for their communities.

The other three of these are Further Education (FE) Colleges which provide full-time Post-Leaving Certificate (PLC) courses, as well a comprehensive part-time or night class program. The Cork College of Commerce is located at Morrison’s Island in the city centre; with the new St. John’s Central College being situated across the southern channel of the river Lee on Sawmill St. Coláiste Stiofáin Naofa is located on Tramore Rd., adjacent to the Cork City bypass. These Colleges cater for over 4000 PLC and 7000 Adult Education students between them.

There are a further 145 PLC students in Nagle Community College and in CityNorth College, the Further Education section of Terence MacSwiney Community College.

A significant number of our PLC students qualify for supports under the Vocational Training Opportunities Scheme (VTOS).

Last Updated: Wednesday, 21-Mar-2012 12:32:23 GMT